Kristine Eckley – Fitness Guru, Outdoor Enthusiast, and Spiritual Lady

As with many people I know, Kristine and I became friends on social media first before we ever met. She posted about a fun event at her gym that allowed you to come workout for free on a Saturday morning. After meeting, I marveled at her Facebook posts on spirituality and inspirational words so I wanted to talk to her more about the gym and her life. I hope you enjoy our conversation below!

1. We became Facebook friends first before we even met in person and I got to meet you at your gym during a Buddy Saturday event. Tell me more about the studio.

The Studio is a boutique style fitness center.  We offer kickboxing, yoga, circuit strength training, boot camp & hiit as well as host a plethora of community events. 

2. What about this gym sets it apart from other gyms?

You can get all of your fitness needs met in one place!  Our community is tight like family.  We like to work hard and have fun.

3. You have some great events, like Buddy Saturday and Yoga, Pizza, and Beer. What has your experience been like getting the word of mouth out about your gym?

Honestly? Tough sometimes.  The system isn’t designed to help small businesses succeed.  We pretty much depend on word of mouth, so getting it out there the best and most cost effective way is our way!  I post a lot on social media, hang fliers, and do a lot of community outreach. 

4. What advice can you give those looking to get fit and not sure where to start?

Just start.  Even if it’s 5 minutes a day.  Be open to try new things, and really give yourself a chance.  Mindset is key in just about anything.  Self-acceptance plays a big role too. 

5. You post about different astrological and spiritual things; tell me more about those aspects that empower you. 

You have to have FAITH.  Whatever that looks like to you… it doesn’t have to make sense to anybody else.  I am so open in my spirituality and love to learn about new and different aspects involving growth.  It helps me keep my mind right–again, mindset is key! 

6. What importance does spirituality play in your life? 

Oh man, it is EXTREMELY important. 

7. What else do you enjoy doing when you’re not kicking butt at the gym? 

I have recently taken up gardening and get better at it every year. Anything that has to do with nature, camping, hiking, swimming.  I love to have fun.  Spending time with my family and my friends whenever possible.  Laugh out loud, and I mean LOUD. 

8. What is one piece of advice that a parent or role model gave you that still resonates to this day?

I dont even know who told me this, but it has been my go to for many years… Worrying is like praying for something you dont want.  If you focus your attention on the version of reality you prefer, you will send the positive vibes out into the universe and speak clearly about what you DO want. Law of attraction works, baby! 

9. Finally, if you had to recommend one book on anything, what would it be? 

Another tough one!  I LOVE self-development books and could write you a very long list!  But, if I had to choose just one, it would be the first self-development book I ever read. The 1970’s What to Say When You Talk to Yourself.  It literally changed my entire life. 

You can learn more about Kristine’s gym by visiting their Facebook Page Palangi Fit.

You can purchase “What to Say When You Talk to Yourself” from Tattered Cover here.

Thank you to Kristine for interviewing with me today 🙂

Advertisements

Leave a comment